Lincoln was founded by the Methodist Conference in 1952 after many years of planning and fundraising. Named after Lincoln College Oxford, considered by some the seat and origin of Methodism and one of the oldest Colleges at Oxford.

The first Master of Lincoln was the Reverend Frank Hambly BA, BD (1952-1972) followed by Rev John Whitehead (1972-1984). Shedding the title ‘Master’ the first Principal was Dr Geoffrey Scott (1984-1994), then by Dr Peter Gunn (1996-2004), Mr Ken Webb (2004-2007), Lincoln’s first female Principal Ms Rebecca Pannell (2007-2013), followed by Linda Bastick (2013-2017). Lincoln’s current CEO, is Dr Paul Tosch (2017-date).

Lincoln has grown steadily in numbers over the years. An initial intake of approximately 23 residents, Lincoln is now home to 200 residents. From its first year Lincoln has been home to university students from across Australia and the world, including Malaysia, and we continue to enjoy a multicultural community of inclusion. While initially only for young men Lincoln opened its doors to young women in 1973, and we have been proud to be part of positive social change and egalitarianism.

Lincoln History - Student Accommodation Adelaide